Men’s club championships 2018

67 players took part in this year’s club championships, 66 on day two.  In a change to previous years, the club was asked to play the championships over two days, rather than one.  The championships were blessed with glorious weather on both days, with excellent scores being returned.

The winner of the lowest 36-hole gross (and Clements scratch bowl) was Jack Diment, with an excellent score or 147 (70 & 77), one shot ahead of John Kirkup (77 & 71), on countback from Chris Burns (74 + 74).

The winner of the lowest 36-hole net (and Shaw memorial trophy) was John Kirkup, with an excellent score of 142 (148 – 6).  In 2nd place was Max Sims on 144 (160 – 16) and in 3rd place was John Taylor on 145 (169 – 24).

Vouchers for individual daily prizes went to:

Saturday (gross):

Jake Craddock

Saturday (net)

James Marshall

Sunday (gross)

Olly Michell

Sunday (net)

Joe Clayton

One of the highlights of the Sunday round was a hole-in-one for David Swayne at the 6th hole.

Recording twos on Saturday were:

Patrick Doyle                Jack Diment x 2            Gary Long                                 James Davie

Adrian Dobney             Paul Roper                   David Charlesworth                  John Kirkup

Bruce Macfarlane         Thomas Cooper  x 2      Will Hopkins                             Mark Sutton

Recording twos on Sunday were:

John Butler      Simon Stuart    Max Sims          Scott Allison     Thomas Cooper

Following play, Jack Diment was presented with the Clements scratch bowl and John Kirkup was presented with the Shaw memorial trophy by club captain Colin Mason.