General Club Noticeboard

Showing 85 - 90 of 90 Items (Page 15 of 15)

Belton Park Ladies win again in The Tasker Trophy!

On Friday 31st May, seven ladies and their caddies travelled to Lutterworth Golf Club near Leicester for the next round of their first year playing in The Tasker Trophy. Played in lovely sunshine on what is a brilliant, but challenging, course they triumphed again, winning by a small margin of 4-3.

Captain for the day, Anna Clark, says….."The course is a little gem to play and the Lutterworth Ladies were lovely hosts. A very enjoyable but tight match, clinched by last lady out Joy Stepney".

The Ladies have been drawn away again in the next round and play a team from Ashbourne Golf Club later in June.

Mid-week Competition Results - June 5th

A fantastic field of 145 golfers at Belton Park competed on Wednesday, June 5th last for 4 trophies; The Middlemans Cup & Driver plus (Nett & Gross prizes) the Long Handicap cup & Peter Lee cup (Nett & Gross prizes). 

95 of the competitors were eligible to compete for the Middlemans as they held handicaps of 10 to 17 with the remainder competing for the Long Handicap trophies as they held handicaps of 18 or greater. 

There was a keen breeze which led to quite a chilly day which did not deter the winning golfers of Dean Griffiths (Middlemans Cup - Nett prize), Nigel Rodway (Middlemans Driver – Gross prize) and Charles Cotton (taking both the Nett and the Gross prizes in the Long Handicap competition).  The ‘2’s sweep was divided amongst 14 golfers.

Victory Cup - Sunday, June 2nd

On Sunday the weather changed, and it saw some very sharp showers but the field comprising of 24 teams of 2 in a mixed Greensomes Stableford format were unperturbed. 

The golfers were competing for the Victory Cup with the team of James Anderton and Jackie Wilson winning with 42 points closely followed by Grace & Sean Hale (who were beaten on countback) and Paula & James Marshall on 41 points. 

The 2s sweep was shared by teams of Annette Fordham/Nigel Evans and Richard Brighton/Jane Renfrew.

Centenary Medal - Saturday, June 1st

We continued the ‘busy weekend’ theme with two competitions, The Centenary Medal on Staurday and the Victory Cup on Sunday.

The weather on Saturday was warm and kind and it saw 139 golfers competed for the Centenary Medal.  The winner was Tom Parry with a brilliant nett 62 in his first competition of the year resulting in a handicap cut of 2 shots.  Second and third places went to Ross Chamberlain with 66 and Olly Mitchell with a nett 67; Olly also took the lowest gross prize with a score of 70. 

There were 6 handicap reductions on the day with the 2s sweep being shared by 18 golfers.  This was an important competition in the year as it formed the 4th element of the Wallwork challenge (the best 4 scores from 7 nominated competitions).  In the lead currently with a combined score of minus 7 is John Maguire closely followed by Stuart Hearn (minus 2) and Steve Turton (minus 1).  There are a further 93 golfers registered for the Wallwork Trophy.

Ladies scratch team match vs Greetham Valley, June 4th

On Tuesday, June 4th the Belton Park Ladies scratch team consisting of Jo Pearson, Anna Clark, and Vicky Grindall played away at Greetham Valley in 3 singles matches.

This was the first Ladies scratch team match for many years and was played in a lovely spirit in torrential wet weather, but we all survived the terrible conditions to have a laugh at the end of it!

All three games were very tough and Belton Park lost 1-2. The team are looking forward to the return home match in July, and better weather!

Seniors match vs Stanton-on-the-Wolds away

On Monday, June 3rd the Seniors visited Stanton-on-the-Wolds for the return match. The course was in excellent condition with very fast greens after the Coronation competition that was held on the Saturday where the greens were running at 13 on the Stimpmeter! Even the home team were struggling with the pace of the greens!

The windy weather, combined with the very fast greens, made the course very difficult and the final result was a 6-2 win for the home team, revenge for the home match played on the previous week at Belton Park which Belton won 5½ - 2½.

1    Mike Collins (C) and John Thompson     Lost 5&4   
2 Pete Long (VC) and Bill Brogan Lost 5&4
3 Tim Stubbs and John McNally Lost 4&3
4 Norman Halliday and John Elliott Lost 3&2
5 Colin Mason and Trevor Collis Won 2&1
6 Steve Calvert and Derek Little Lost 8&6
7 Dave Dobney and Peter Hancock Won 2 up
8 Frank Overton and Brian Mole Lost 1 down 


The next Seniors match is on Monday, June 10th at Radcliffe-on-Trent.



Showing 85 - 90 of 90 Items (Page 15 of 15)