General Club Noticeboard

Showing 7 - 12 of 90 Items (Page 2 of 15)

Seniors – Nick Craft Trophy - Tuesday, February 4th

On Tuesday, February 4th, the Seniors took part in the Nick Craft Trophy competition. The competition is a “yellow ball” format, whereby each team of 3 players has a yellow ball and each team member uses the yellow ball in rotation. The Stableford score of the yellow ball counts double and, if the team loses their yellow ball, they obviously lose the ability for it to count double. Only 2 teams lost their yellow ball!

It was a very cold windy morning and 45 players took part in the competition on the Ancaster course. There were some excellent scores, the winning team consisted of: Steve White, John Clarke & John Elliott scoring 116 points, that’s 6 points clear of 2nd place! 



Steve White, John Clarke & John Elliott

116 points


Mike Collins, Gary Hill, & Paul Walsh

110 points     


David Langley, David Andrew & Tiny Holmes      

109 points

Nick Craft was on hand to present the trophy to the winning team. 

Bunker Renovation

This week, Lee and his team are doing a little bit or turf work.

On Monday morning they took delivery of 1200 square metres of top quality turf from Fineturf. The lads have unloaded, transported and commenced work on the new bunkers.

You will note the use of upside down turf as a liner for the new bunkers. Clever.

The new fairway bunker on the 1st was completed by morning tea break and one on the 10th was finished by lunch. Now that is a fantastic effort!


Seniors – Texas Scramble – January 21st

On Tuesday, January 21st 45 Seniors braved freezing conditions to compete in a “Fun Golf Texas Scramble”. The conditions early on were freezing cold with a heavy frost, the coldest morning we’ve seen this winter. Conditions improved as the sun came up and the last few teams finished in beautiful sunshine!

The competition was played over the composite course and was won by the team of; Simon Denton, Richard Meadows and Tiny Holmes with a nett score of 58.64!

The competition was followed by a light lunch and Dennis Santer won a bottle of Malt Whisky in the heads and tails game after the meal. Just over £50 was raised for the Senior Captain’s two charities, The Alzheimer’s Society and The Grantham Passage.






Winning Team   

Simon Denton, Richard Meadows, and Tiny Holmes   


2nd place

Alan Addis, Trevor Collis, and Phil Willcock


3rd place

David Smith, John Thompson, and Paul Walsh


Lady Captain's Choice 9 Hole Competition

Lady Captain Pam introduces 9 Hole Competitions on Captain's Choice events...

"I would like to give you an update on the Lady Captain’s Competitions which have been extremely well supported throughout December and so far this month.


Following a request, I am happy to advise you that with effect from Tuesday 28th January, there will also be a weekly 9-hole Captain’s Choice Competition on Tuesdays. These will be run on the same basis as the main 18- hole competition and a prize will be given to the winners.

This additional competition is to be enjoyed by the Ladies who wish to play competitive ‘fun’ golf but are unable to play the full 18 holes.

There are three available slots at the end of the 18- hole tee times for the 9- hole players. On the 28th January two of these tee times have been filled at 11.45am and 11.52am and there is a 12- noon tee time available.

I will be delighted if there are more Ladies who would like to make up a team and join us on Tuesday’s. If the demand is there I will arrange for more tee-times to be made available.

Captains Charity Cheque Presentations

2019 Belton Park Golf Club Captains, Simon Denton and Helen Long, signed off their year with a cheque presentation to their chosen charities.

Simon supported Prostate Cancer UK and Helen supported The Alzheimer’s Society, both for very personal reasons. During their year Simon and Helen held several fund-raising events and raised a combined sum of nearly £12000 for the two Charities which was a terrific result.

Graham Bates and his wife Maureen are seen pictured receiving the cheque on behalf of Prostate Cancer UK and Ollie Larkin is pictured with Helen receiving the cheque for The Alzheimer’s Society.

Simon and Helen would like to thank everyone at Belton Park Golf Club for all their support in helping them raise so much money for these very important charities. 

Seniors – Curly Foster Trophy - December 17th

On Tuesday, December 17th 51 Seniors played in the annual pre-Christmas fun competition, the Curly Foster Trophy. The format is an individual Stableford competition played over 15 holes with only 4 clubs, one of which must be a putter.

The conditions were dry (at last!) and the course has stood up well to the huge amount of rain over the past 6 weeks. The greens were in excellent condition considering the temperature and the amount of rain we’ve had recently.

After the competition the Seniors were led by choirmaster Paul Skelton in singing Christmas carols, including a special 12 days of Christmas with words composed by Andrew Cookson. Mulled wine, mince pies and sausage rolls were served and a bottle of whisky was kindly donated by the Seniors Vice Captain Tim Stubbs.



Richard Meadows     

32 points

2nd place

Andy Kettle

31 points (C/B)   

3rd place

Graham Secker

31 points (C/B)


There was a nearest the pin on hole 14 which was won by the Seniors Captain Pete Long.

Showing 7 - 12 of 90 Items (Page 2 of 15)