General Club Noticeboard

Showing 1 - 6 of 12 Items (Page 1 of 2)

Seniors Section Competition Winners 2018

The Seniors section held their end-of-season prize-giving during a lunch following a stableford competition on October 16th.

Seniors Competition Winners - 2018



Curly Foster Trophy

Nigel Beaumont

Nick Craft Trophy

Alan Farmer, Simon Gray, Gary Hill    

Jack Whiteley Trophy

Derek Little

Cyril Woods Memorial Trophy          

Simon Gray

Geoff Timson Trophy

Trevor Collis

Colin Ryan Cup

Alan Farmer

Alec  Hay Trophy

Mike Collins, Dave Dobney

John Cowe Cup

Tim Stubbs

Ted Woodhouse Trophy

Barrie Stainton

Derek Maunders Shield

Philip Willcock

John Carr Trophy

Alan Farmer

Tim Thornett Trophy

Frank Overton

Ian Lindsay Trophy

Bill Brogan

Belton Park Mixed Team Am-Am

We have come to the end of the mixed team matches for 2018 and finished with a most enjoyable afternoon playing the mixed team Am-Am for those members who took part in the matches over the season and those who hopefully will join us next season.

There were seven teams playing and the results were as follows:-

Nearest the pin on the 4th for the boys     - John Clark

Nearest the pin on the 17th for the girls   - Ina Wood

In second place in the competition were Les Watson, Sean Hale, Ina Wood and Nicola Routledge with a score of 79 points and in first place with a score of 82 points were James Wiggins, James Marshall, Annette Fordham and Sue Walker-Sherriff.

A very successful year for the team with all six matches being won:-

  • Away at Spalding Five and a half, two and a half
  • Away at Radcliffe on Trent Four and a half, three and a half
  • At home to Spalding a win of four and a half to three and a half.
  • At home against Newark the full team won eight nil
  • At home against Seacroft a win of seven to one
  • And finally, at home against Blankney a win of six to two.

MB Jackson Trophy - October 13th

On Saturday, October 13th in very challenging, windy conditions, 109 golfers took part in the MB Jackson Trophy.  

This is a trophy for all players who had the best nett or best gross in non-trophy (18 Hole) competitions since the last playing of this competition in 2017. 

Non-qualifying members may play in the medal, but are not eligible to win the trophy. The winner of the MB Jackson trophy is the highest placed golfer from the list of qualifying golfers.

Conditions were so challenging, that the CSS was increased by 2 shots.

The top 5 placings for the competition were:

  • 1st - Brett White
  • 2nd - Jack Diment
  • 3rd - Dave Carter
  • 4th - Michael Butler
  • 5th - Mark Sutton

The winner of the MB Jackson Trophy is Jack Diment.

Best gross was Jack Diment with an excellent 70.

The following players had two’s:

  • MJ Squire
  • Michael Butler
  • Robert Pask
  • Milo Walsh
  • Mark Sutton
  • Tony Gleave
  • Guy Mitchell
  • Jack Diment
  • Mark Loveridge

The MB Jackson trophy season starts again with the Club Stableford on Sat 20 Oct.

Ladies – Captain vs Secretary Match - October 9th

Belton Park ladies played Lady Captain Paula Marshall v Lady Secretary Sheila Mason as a match-play pairs competition with a meal following the match. The match had been postponed back in April due to bad weather so the superb October weather on the day was greatly appreciated! The course was also in excellent condition!

A group of twenty ladies played in the two teams. The result was a win for the Lady Captain’s team and therefore retaining the sought-after rosette with a 3½ to 1½  match score.

Belton Park crowned Lincolnshire Champions

Belton Park Golf Club first team were crowned Lincolnshire Champions after defeating Market Rasen Golf Club 4 matches to 2 in the finals of the Lincolnshire Leagues scratch club competition. The match was played on Sunday 7th October at South Kyme Golf Club in pleasant autumnal weather.

To qualify for the finals the Belton Park team had won the South Lincolnshire First Division league title in August after competing throughout the summer against other local clubs, Stoke Rochford, Blankney, Burghley Park, Spalding and Sleaford. Of the 10 matches they played, six were won, three were drawn and the only loss was the last match after the league had been won.

The team was captained by Jack Diment who, with John Kirkup, recorded a splendid 6 & 4 win over their Market Rasen opponents. This together with a win for Mick Green and Bruce Macfarlane and losses in two other matches meant that the result hinged upon the last two matches out on the course. The first saw Harry Glen and Leon Leaney go all square with a birdie on the 17th hole and win the last with a par 5 when the Market Rasen player missed a short putt. Behind them a birdie by Adrian Allen saw him and playing partner Jake Craddock square the match on the 16th. Jake then birdied the par 4, 348 yards 17th hole after his drive ended up one yard from the green. They halved the last hole to again win by 1 hole and secure the title for Belton Park.

Afterwards Lincolnshire Golf Union President Les Toyne presented the League Trophy to the winning Captain Jack Diment. Belton Park Club Captain Colin Mason congratulated the team for their performance and Jack for his captaincy. He also thanked South Kyme for hosting the event and offered commiserations to Market Rasen.


The Belton Park second team also competed in the handicap league finals against Waltham Windmill Golf Club on the same day but after a close game lost 4 matches to 2. Led by Captain Spike Carr they had won the South Lincolnshire Second team league during the year winning five matches, drawing two, and only losing once.

The Gillam Trophy

On Sunday 7th October, Belton Park hosted its increasingly popular Autumn Mixed Open with 62 pairs competing for The Gillam Trophy.

With a morning frost and light fog, it certainly had a very autumnal feel. However, after the gloom had lifted, the competitors were treated to a beutiful sunny day on a golf course that remains in fantastic condition.

The format for the competition was a mixed better ball Stableford and the winners with a fantastic score of 46 points were Caroline & Tony Hills from Belton Woods GC. Two shots back were the Belton Park GC pair of Veronica Rose & Nick Maltby who put up a valiant defence of the trohy, having won in 2017. In third, on 43 points (ocb) were Derek & Yvonne Bashford with Olga & Rob Ebsworth - all from Belton Park. To continue the Belton domination, in fith place were Lesley & Paul Perrin of the Woods variety. In sixth place were Ian Whittaker & Angela Picker from Ruddington Grange GC.

Following play, competitors anjoyed a two course carvery and refreshments from the Clubhouse.

The full results are available at


Showing 1 - 6 of 12 Items (Page 1 of 2)