Dick Short wins Past Captains Trophy

On Wednesday 17th July, twenty-one past captains competed for the prestigious Past Captains Trophy. In glorious weather the scores were very good and it was very tight at the top with Dick Short eventually emerging the winner with 39 points.

Dick had an excellent round which included four birdies and six pars that pushed last year’s Captain Colin Mason into second place. Colin finished with 38 points one ahead of John McClelland in third.

The competition was followed by an evening meal hosted by this year’s Captain Simon Denton and was finished off perfectly with the traditional passing of the port. Congratulations to Dick on regaining the Trophy he last won in 2006!