C Team win 4-2 vs Stoke Rochford - June 21st

On Friday, June 21st, the Belton Park C Team played a match against Stoke Rochford on the Ancaster course (holes 19-27 and 1-9).

To tee it up on a warm sunny afternoon is as good as golf gets and then the business began between two well-established teams.

Belton Park’s first pair (a “duet” of Ians) started strongly with a display of fabulous putting from Ian Whyte and, if anything missed, Captain Ian Carroll was there to take over, achieving an early win.

The course was in great condition, with superb fairways and true greens, but oh! the rough (ball collector) was penal!

Each set of pairs played to win, but Belton Park took home advantage, winning 4-2.

Stoke Rochford Captain Darryl Knight praised the course and stated he looks forward to the return match. A carvery with pudding was enjoyed by all at the end of a good day’s golf.

Best pair of the match went to Captain Ian Carroll and Ian Whyte with a 7&6 win, so both players go on to the best player of the year award.

Vice-Captain Andy MacGowan again donated a bottle of wine for nearest the pin on the 13th hole which was won by Stoke Rochford’s famous player David Hamilton, well done!  

Andy’s cellar space is getting bigger due to the fact that Andy’s wife is thinking of taking in a lodger!

This year Clive Horn has won 5 matches in a row and we know this because he has told us on many occasions - keep this up and he might get picked again!!!!! Let’s see how long this streak lasts!?

Big Alec Sherwin (new member from Burghley) played his first match and won. He was so stressed his hair curled!!!!!

Peter Thacker came into play for his first time and congratulations on your first win - so big thanks Peter.

A past hero, Keith Smith, came back to do battle, partnering Ben Bayliss with his bandaged knee, but alas plans of a win did not materialise.

Ajay Panchal was arriving late and fell over his wallet in the car park, but still played despite being wounded on his hand and his leg, and he still got a win! Ajay shows his grit…



Captain Ian Carroll & Ian Whyte          

won 7 & 6


Dish Patel & Clive Horn

won 2 up


Ajay Panchal & Alec Sherwin

won 2 & 1     


Keven Phillips & Nigel Rodway

lost 4 & 3


Ben Bayliss & Keith Smith

lost 5 & 3 


Andy MacGowan & Peter Thacker

won 1 up  

Next match is away at Spalding with a 3pm tee off.