C Team Match vs Burghley Park - May 9th

On Thursday May 9th Belton Park C Team hosted a team from Burghley Park.

Captain Ian Carroll assisted by the “not so toned and tanned” Andy MacGowan competed against well in form stand in Captain Matt Payton and Stewart Ward, but alas were defeated 3&2.

The conditions were cold and wet with some dry spells and the course was in superb condition with fabulous greens. Matt and Stewart demonstrated how to sink putts from over 20 feet!

The Ancaster course was chosen for the match and the remainder of the Belton Park team showed good spirit and won all five of the remaining games. The best win of the night was from John Cooke and Clive Horne with a 6&5 win giving John the early lead in the best C Team player of the year. The best C Team player of the year trophy will be presented in the AM AM in October. John topped this achievement by winning a bottle of wine for nearest the pin on the 6th hole!

There was a big welcome to new C Team members; Kevin Phillips, Robb Tapp, and John Clark, congratulations on their inaugural wins! Well done to the whole team for a great 5-1 win.



Ian Carroll and Andy MacGowan 

Lost 3&2


Colin Mason and Andy Beanland

Won 2&1


Garry Taylor and Robb Tapp

Won 2&1


John Clark and Ben Bayliss

Won 2&1


John Cooke and Clive Horne

Won 6&5     


Stewart Boylan and Kevin Phillips     

Won 1 up