Belton Park Captain’s team visit The Leicestershire for annual match

On Wednesday 18th July the Belton Park Captain’s team travelled to “The Leicestershire Golf Club” to contest the sixth annual match for the salver donated in 2013 by the then vice captains of each club Rob Bartlett and Kanti Patel. The Belton Park team consisting of the current and past captains were defending the trophy, having won the previous year at Belton Park.

The weather was pleasantly warm with a short refreshing shower during lunch and just before play. The course, which has recently been extended by the creation of two par 5’s, was in excellent condition with the greens running true and accepting a well-flighted ball. As always, the matches were keenly contested in the true spirit of the game.  Despite two early victories by the current captains, Belton Park lost by 5 games to 2.

After play, both teams had an excellent meal of lamb ribs with a selection of vegetables, followed by a trio of summer fruit puddings. Both captains then spoke, recalling the day’s events, previous matches, club histories, and the fact that both clubs were formed back in 1890.

This victory ties the annual matches at 3 each.

The full results were (Belton Park first);

Paula Marshall (Lady Captain) & Helen Long won 1 up against Kathy Hunt (Lady captain) & Lucy Pova

Colin Mason (Captain)& John Taylor won 1 up against Neil Scotchbrook (Captain) & Mark Simmons

Simon Denton (Vice Captain) & James Wiggins lost 4&3 against Mike Bucktin (Vice Captain) & Clive Smith (Vice President)

Derek Bashford & Stephen Glenn lost 3&2 against Peter Howkins & Kanti Patel

David Harris (President) & Paul Screen lost 7&5 against Roger Povoas (Seniors Captain) & Tony Jarvis

Dick Short & Paul Woods lost 3&2 against David Coulson & John Cos

John McClelland & Martin Kelby lost 5&4 against Francis Lobo & Paul Donaghy